Home | About | Contact | Publisher's Choice | Book Reviews and Translated Excerpts
worldfootballcommentaries.com: Unbiased journalism and unique content since November 2006.
"In any language, the whole world is united by a ball." --- Steve Amoia, World Football Commentaries

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Carlos Dunga Releases 23 Man World Cup Roster

Brazil vs Republic of Ireland
with his captain, Lucio. The younger man
is a mirror image of his hard-nosed boss: A coach
on the field and a great leader by actions not words.

Dunga is Chasing History

Carlos Dunga,
who won the World Cup in 1994 as a player, has released his final roster for the South African World Cup. He will become only the third man to win the Cup as a player and manager should Brazil lift the trophy on July 11th from Soccer City in Johannesburg.

Italian-based Selections

Dunga selected eight players who feature in the Italian Serie A. He has a good blend of foreign-based and domestic stars.


Goalkeepers: Júlio César (Inter Milan), Gomes (Tottenham), Doni (Roma).

Maicon (Inter Milan), Daniel Alves (Barcelona), Lúcio (Inter Milan), Juan (Roma), Luisão (Benfica), Thiago Silva (AC Milan), Michel Bastos (Lione), Gilberto (Cruzeiro).

Gilberto Silva (Panathinaikos), Felipe Melo (Juventus), Josué (Wolfsburg), Kléberson (Flamengo), Elano (Galatasaray), Ramires (Benfica), Kaká (Real Madrid), Júlio Baptista (Roma).

Strikers: Luís Fabiano (Sevilla), Nilmar (Villarreal), Robinho (Santos), Grafite (Wolfsburg).

Source: La Gazzetta dello Sport, May 11, 2010.

Notable Omissions

Corinthians vs Flamengo
The powerful Adriano, "The Emperor," will watch
the World Cup from Rio. He starred at Inter Milan
for many years before personal problems forced
a return to Brazil.

The AC Milan duo of Pato and Ronaldinho were not selected. Adriano of Flamengo and Diego of Juventus also did not make the final cut.

Sports News - March 01, 2010
Ronaldinho and Pato in action with Milan.

World Football Commentaries Home Page
World Football Commentaries by Steve Amoia. Copyright © 2006-2019. All rights reserved.