Home | About | Contact | Publisher's Choice | Book Reviews and Translated Excerpts
worldfootballcommentaries.com: Unbiased journalism and unique content since November 2006.
"In any language, the whole world is united by a ball." --- Steve Amoia, World Football Commentaries

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Washington Freedom’s Briana Scurry Represents WPS at U.S. Soccer Foundation Clinic in Washington D.C. by Rob Penner

WPS Logo

Washington Freedom’s Briana Scurry Represents WPS at U.S. Soccer Foundation Clinic in Washington D.C.

The First Lady Shows Off Soccer Skills to Highlight Let's Move! Campaign

WASHINGTON, D.C. (March 5, 2010) – The First Lady, Michelle Obama, joined the U.S. Soccer Foundation, the major charitable arm of Soccer in the United States at its free youth soccer clinic in Washington, DC on Friday, March 5, 2010 to highlight the Soccer Foundation’s commitment to the national fight against childhood obesity and support for the First Lady’s Let’s Move! campaign that emphasizes the importance of children getting 60 minutes of active play each day.
Representing WPS was Washington Freedom goalkeeper Briana Scurry, the Freedom’s mascot “Glory” and Mark Washo, President & GM, Washington Freedom. As a league, WPS has pledged its commitment to the First Lady’s national campaign to fight childhood obesity through physical activity and a healthy lifestyle.
For information on the First Lady's Let's Move! campaign visit: http://www.letsmove.gov/

For the full story on today's U.S. Soccer Foundation clinic and photo gallery, visit:


For information on WPS's commitment to the campaign, visit http://www.womensprosoccer.com/news/press_releases/100209-white-house

Mrs. Michelle Obama with Brianna Scurry of the Washington Freedom.

About Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS)

Headquartered in San Francisco, Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS) is the world’s premier soccer league for women with eight teams across the United States featuring the best players from around the world. WPS completed its inaugural season in August 2009 as Sky Blue FC of New Jersey became the first-ever WPS Champions. In 2010, eight teams will each play 24-game schedules from April 10-September 12 including six original WPS teams – Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Gold Pride (Bay Area), Saint Louis Athletica, Sky Blue FC (NJ/NY) and Washington Freedom – and two expansion teams Atlanta Beat and Philadelphia Independence. The top four finishers in the regular season will qualify for the 2010 WPS Playoffs scheduled for September 19-26. For more information, visit the WPS official website at www.womensprosoccer.com or follow all the news at www.twitter.com/womensprosoccer.

About the Author

Rob Penner is the Director of Communications for Women's Professional Soccer.

Rob Penner Archive
World Football Commentaries by Steve Amoia. Copyright © 2006-2019. All rights reserved.