Home | About | Contact | Our Contributors | Sidebar Table of Contents

Fútbol. Futebol. Calcio. Fußball. Soccer. ποδόσφαιρο. Kopaná. Fotbal. Futball. Voetbal. Fotboll. Fotball. Fudbal. футбол. oкер. Jalkapallo. Futbola. Fótbóltur. Association Football. Nogomet. Piłka Nożna. Fótbolti. Fodbold. Futboll. Il-Loghba tal-ballun. Futbol. Futbolo. Sepak Bola. Kandanda. Balompie. Kinipōpō peku. Cumann Peile. Isikkamik. arsaanneq. כדורגל. đá banh. ball-pwe. ฟุตบอลفٹ بال फुटबाल 蹴球 足球 フットボールلعبة كرة القدم بازى فوتبال

"In any language, the whole world is united by a ball." --- Steve Amoia, Publisher, November 2006.

Translate Articles at World Football Commentaries

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Interpretation of Law 17-The Corner Kick

AC Milan's Alessandro Nesta reacts after being shown a yellow card by Dutch referee Bjorn Kuipers during the Champions League quarter-final second leg soccer match against Barcelona at Camp Nou stadium in Barcelona April 3, 2012.
Alessandro Nesta of AC Milan and
Bjorn Kuipers at the Camp Nou on
3 April 2012.
Reuters Pictures logo Reuters Pictures


FC Barcelona was awarded a penalty in their recent Champions League quarterfinal tie against AC Milan that created considerable controversy.

Alessandro Nesta grabbed the shirt of Sergio Busquets who then went down to the ground. Most of this activity occurred before the corner kick had been taken. Mr. Bjorn Kuipers pointed to the spot and gave a yellow card to Nesta. Lionel Messi converted to give Barcelona a 2-1 lead.



Video courtesy of 101 Great Goals.

Comments by Bjorn Kuipers, the Match Official

BARCELONA, SPAIN - APRIL 03: Referee Bjorn Kuipers (R) holds back Philippe Mexes (C) of AC Milan as he argues with Sergio Busquets of FC Barcelona during the Champions League quarter-final second leg match between FC Barcelona and AC Milan at the Camp Nou stadium on April 3, 2012 in Barcelona, Spain.
Bjorn Kuipers with Sergio Busquets and
Philippe
Mexes.
Getty Images logo Getty Images

These comments were originally made in Dutch and then translated into Italian:

"Abbiamo fatto un ottimo lavoro".

"We did a great job."

"Abbiamo fatto un grande lavoro di squadra -dice all'agenzia Anp, riferendosi anche ai suoi assistenti- Tutto è andato come doveva andare, in maniera ottimale. Ho ricevuto diverse chiamate dopo la partita, ed erano tutte per elogiarmi". Indipendentemente dai due rigori concessi al Barça, Kuipers ritiene, quindi, di aver fatto "un ottimo lavoro". "Il semplice fatto che noi ci sentiamo a posto con la nostra prestazione dice tutto".

"We did a great job as a refereeing team," he told the Dutch news agency, ANP, referring also to his assistants.

"Everything went as it should have gone in the best possible way. I have received several phone calls after the game. And all of them were to praise me." Not withstanding the two penalty kicks conceded to Barcelona, Kuipers maintains, therefore, to have done, "an outstanding job. The simple fact that we feel at peace with our performance says everything."

Italian source: Corriere dello Sport, 4 April 2012.

Comments by Alessandro Nesta


"Potevamo fare meglio nelle ripartenze. Il Barcellona è il Barcellona, non puoi sbagliare niente. Il rigore? Ho subìto un blocco, Puyol non guarda la palla, per me era fallo. Non era neanche partita la palla dell'angolo. E di rigori l'arbitro ne aveva già dato uno. Poi Busquets l'ho trattenuto, dovevo lasciarlo prima. Poteva far molto meglio l'arbitro. Molto meglio".

"We could have done better after restarts. Barcelona is Barcelona. You can't make any mistakes at all. The penalty? I took a block and (Carles) Puyol wasn't looking at the ball. For me, it was a foul. The ball didn't even leave the corner kick area. And on the penalties, the referee had already awarded one. Then I held up (Sergio) Busquets. I should have let him go before that. The referee could have done much better. Much better."

Italian source: La Gazzetta dello Sport, 3 April 2012.

I thought that it would be helpful to see the actual law on corner kicks to help us better understand Mr. Kuiper's decision.

LAW 17 – THE CORNER KICK

A corner kick is a method of restarting play.

A corner kick is awarded when the whole of the ball passes over the goal
line, either on the ground or in the air, having last touched a player of the
defending team, and a goal is not scored in accordance with Law 10.

A goal may be scored directly from a corner kick, but only against the opposing
team.

Procedure


• The ball must be placed inside the corner arc nearest to the point where
the ball crossed the goal line
• The corner flagpost must not be moved
• Opponents must remain at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the corner arc until
the ball is in play
• The ball must be kicked by a player of the attacking team
• The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves
• The kicker must not play the ball again until it has touched another player

Infringements and sanctions


Corner kick taken by a player other than the goalkeeper

If, after the ball is in play, the kicker touches the ball again (except with his
hands) before it has touched another player:

• an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, to be taken from the
place where the infringement occurred (see Law 13 – Position of free kick)

If, after the ball is in play, the kicker deliberately handles the ball before it has
touched another player:

• a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team, to be taken from the
place where the infringement occurred (see Law 13 – Position of free kick)
• a penalty kick is awarded if the infringement occurred inside the kicker’s
penalty area

Corner kick taken by the goalkeeper

If, after the ball is in play, the goalkeeper touches the ball again (except with
his hands) before it has touched another player:

• an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, to be taken from the
place where the infringement occurred (see Law 13 – Position of free kick)

If, after the ball is in play, the goalkeeper deliberately handles the ball before it
has touched another player:

• a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team if the infringement
occurred outside the goalkeeper’s penalty area, to be taken from the place
where the infringement occurred (see Law 13 – Position of free kick)

• an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if the infringement
occurred inside the goalkeeper’s penalty area, to be taken from the place
where the infringement occurred (see Law 13 – Position of free kick)

In the event of any other infringement:


• the kick is retaken

Source of text: FIFA Laws of the Game, 2010/2011, Law 17-The Corner Kick, pages 48-49.



Watch the Champions League on Legal U.S. Streams





Steve Amoia is a freelance writer, book reviewer and translator from Washington, D.C. He is the publisher of World Football Commentaries and The Soccer Translator. You can follow Steve @worldfootballcm on Twitter.


The Soccer Translator Home | Follow on Twitter


Bookmark and Share

No comments:

World Football Commentaries by Steve Amoia. Copyright © 2006-2017. All rights reserved.
The football highlights widget is provided by Football Highlights 247.com.
The European Leagues and Champions League widgets are provided by El País.